Race Details:

The race will last for 1 hour and the winners will be the highest exp players in their class. This means even if one class is stronger than all the others, it does not matter because each class is competing only against itself (e.g #1 Sorceress, #1 Barbarian, etc). For the test race it will be possible to play both Softcore or Hardcore. The ladder rankings will be saved as soon as the time is up; so don't worry if the servers don't shutdown at the exact same time. When the time is up, even if you are still capable of playing and gaining exp because your server is shutting down last, you won't see that exp on the rankings. In the future though we will try and improve our system to make sure there is no confusion there by actually stopping all game servers simultaneously.

Server List:

We will be taking some of the game servers from the main realm and putting them on this race realm. This means not all the game servers you are use to will be available. I expect GS 6, 8, 12, 14, 15 and 18 will be set to "Race Event". However on Saturday you will be able to verify which Game Servers are available before the start of the race. They will be marked as "RACE EVENT": https://pathofdiablo.com/p/?servers

Event Date:

The race will be held on Saturday May 26 @ 18:00 London Time. This time has been converted to other popular timezones below:

(shown by 24-hour clock)

Taipei, Taiwan Sun, 27 May 2018 at 01:01 CST

Frankfurt, Germany Sat, 26 May 2018 at 19:01 CEST

New York, USA Sat, 26 May 2018 at 13:01 EDT

Los Angeles, USA Sat, 26 May 2018 at 10:01 PDT

Sydney, Australia Sun, 27 May 2018 at 03:01 AEST

Moscow, Russia Sat, 26 May 2018 at 20:01 MSK

London, United Kingdom Sat, 26 May 2018 at 18:01 BST

How to Join the Race Realm:

1.Open the game via the PoD Launcher (as usual) and go into singleplayer mode with any character. Open the Settings buttons in the lower left-hand corner via CTRL+Click.

2.Click the "Gateway" tab and change the ip from s.pathofdiablo.com to r.pathofdiablo.com then right click "Settings" to close the window. Save & Exit the game and close Diablo II to save changes.

3.Now open the game again and click "Play Online". You will need to make a new account for this test race but please use the same name as your existing PoD account. Make sure to select "Ladder character" when creating your character.


Please do try to play this event to help us test our servers and improve the way we organize races. This is something we would like to do often in the future in order to attract fans of speed-running to our community. But in order to do so we need to make mistakes and learn from them as we go. So thanks to everyone who joins us this weekend. I hope everything goes smoothly


Discussion on r/pathofdiablo

Posted by GreenDude, 6 months 21 days ago